Sentimental Saturday

Today is a Saturday and I’ve been feeling pretty sentimental most of the day.

I’m not sure why. Perhaps because of the time of year; late August, heading into September, and the memories are flowing like a slow moving stream. The time of my life probably has much to do with my feeling this way as well.

You see, on September 6, 2016, I will turn 63.

I never thought I would live this long. As far back as my elementary school days I can recall sitting in class and thinking that if I were to live to 60-years of age, what year it would be (2013). I distinctly remember thinking that I would never live that long. That feeling never left me, and for good reason. By the time I was 16-years of age, I’d had enough of this life and tried to check out by attempting to overdose on my mother’s prescription sleeping pills (placidyl). I would’ve succeeded had God not intervened. As it turned out, I only put myself into a medically-induced coma for two weeks.

For the longest time (30 years) I was angry at God for not letting me die; and I guess I never really gave up trying, as I became a hard-core drug addict and alcoholic. I did stupid and insane things that I had no business doing, like driving a ’57 Oldsmobile 70 mph on a gravel road, after dark, and wrapping it around a telephone pole. I actually walked away from the scene of the accident and walked 15 miles, totally drunk and with my head split open, to my house.

God simply was not going to let me check out of life on my own. When I got sober (for good in 1999), I counted up 8 times that I should have been dead, 7 of them by my own foolishness. And those are simply the times I am aware of and can recall. Lord only knows how many more times he had his ‘hedge-of-protection’ around me, keeping me around for his plan and purpose.

But I digress… sort of. You see, I mentioned all that in an effort to explain why I have been feeling so melancholy today. I know my past and I know my heart. Of course, God knows my heart better than I do… but there I go digressing again!

Several old songs came to mind today, and one of them was by a group called THE TROGGS. They were part of the “British Invasion”.

The British Invasion was a phenomenon that occurred in the mid-1960s when rock and pop music acts from the United Kingdom, as well as other aspects of British culture, became popular in the United States, and significant to the rising “counterculture” on both sides of the Atlantic.

SOURCE:British Invasion РWikipedia, the free encyclopedia 

The song that came to mind was LOVE IS ALL AROUND. As I was sitting in my backyard, I pulled it up on my smartphone and gave it a listen. As I listened to the words, my eyes teared up, as I realized that they held an entirely new meaning for me today, because –once again– God was pricking my heart with his love for me.

You see, as I was listening to the lyrics, I heard a conversation between God and myself. The best way I know how to share this conversation with you, is to share the lyrics with you in the same manner as he did with me.

Understand that through this song, God was showing my why he kept me from dying — so that I might come to know him and his love for me, as I do today.

(Feel free to play the video below as you read the lyrics.)

The Troggs – Love Is All Around Lyrics | MetroLyrics

ME:

I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes
Love is all around me and so the feeling grows
It’s written on the wind, it’s everywhere I go
So if you really love me, come on and let it show

GOD:

You know I love you, I always will
My mind’s made up by the way that I feel
There’s no beginning, there’ll be no end
‘Cause on my love you can depend

ME:

I see your face before me, as I lay on my bed
I kinda get to thinking of all the things you said
You gave a promise to me, and I gave mine to you
I need someone beside me in everything I do

GOD:

You know I love you, I always will
My mind’s made up by the way that I feel
There’s no beginning, there’ll be no end
‘Cause on my love you can depend

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

