After the Storm Has Passed

I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

It has been a while since my lat post here. I repeatedly tried to compose a post over the past few months, but without success. All I could seem to come up with was a topic, but I found myself unable to “flesh it out“.

Even this post is somewhat of a struggle, but I wanted to let everyone know that whatever it was that had me so confused and incoherent seems to have passed. Lately I have been busy over on my main blog/website [Focused and Free] adding fresh content without much difficulty. So I thought I probably should spread the love around and post a little something over here.

Actually, considering the time of year it is here in the northern hemisphere, this is a good time to relate what I went through with the type of storms typical for this time of year; severe thunder storms accompanied with hail and damaging winds [tornadoes]. They can be very scary to go through and the damage caused by the storm can be horrendous. But the joy and the beauty that is realized after the storm has passed, can be quite exhilarating.

Yes, there is much damage left behind from the storm, but nothing that cannot be replaced or repaired. Structural damage can be mitigated, loss of life cannot. Many people do lose their life in a storm like the one I passed through. They become so overcome with fear and despair that they end up taking their own life, thinking it is better than waiting for the storm to consume them in its utter darkness. In all reality, when they take their own life, that is exactly what the storm has done. It has consumed them with utter darkness.

John 8:12 (NASB)
12  Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”

If I had not known “the light of life“,  I would have been overcome by the darkness.

You see, this was not my first experience with such darkness. Back when I was 16 the darkness consumed me and I tried desperately to take my life. But even then the light of life intervened and kept me alive. All I managed to do was to put myself into a medically induced coma for two weeks and in Intensive Care for four weeks. Even so, the darkness still had a hold on me and for the next thirty years it tried repeatedly to overcome me, so as to destroy my life. It nearly succeeded.

Today, I recognize the darkness for what it is, a destroyer of life; a very powerful enemy that can only be overcome by the light of life, Christ Jesus. Today I no longer seek to overcome the darkness on my own. Instead I trust in the ONE who has ALL power, that ONE is God; may you find Him now!

The Sermon on the Mount [The Gospel of Matthew, chapters 5,6, & 7] produces despair in the heart of the natural man, and that is the very thing Jesus meant to do, because as soon as we reach the point of despair, we are willing to come as paupers to [Jesus] Christ and receive from Him.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit” — that is the first principle of the kingdom. As long as we have a conceited, self-righteous idea that we can do the thing if God will help us, God has to allow us to go on until we break the neck of our ignorance over some obstacle, then we will be willing to come and receive from Him. The bedrock of Christ’s kingdom is poverty, not possession; not decisions for Jesus, but a sense of absolute futility. “I cannot begin to do it.” Then, says Jesus, “Blessed are you.” That is the entrance, and it takes us a long while to believe we are poor. The knowledge of our own poverty brings us to the moral frontier where Jesus Christ works.

Amen!

RELATED: The Darkness Cannot Overcome the Light (wsbaptist.org)

John wrote of Jesus in the Gospel of John: In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” (John 1:1–5, ESV)

Spiritual darkness cannot overcome the light of Christ. What is true of the Lord Jesus Christ is also true of the good news of His life, death, burial and resurrection for the forgiveness of sins, for the extinguishing of the God’s wrath, for peace with God and the joy of fellowship with Him as His children for all who repent and believe in Jesus of Nazareth as Savior and Lord.

The darkness labors tirelessly and violently against the testimony of Christ and the good news of the gospel but the forces of spiritual darkness cannot and will not be victorious. Of course, that does not mean that they will not try. They will and here’s why. Jesus said: “And this is the judgment: the light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil.” (John 3:19, ESV)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

