When It Rains

No, this isn’t a post about Springtime. 🙂 It is in reference, rather, to an old adage. Do you know it?

WHEN IT RAINS, IT POURS

And then there’s that 1972 soft-rock song by Albert Hammond and Mike Hazlewood

Seems it never rains in southern California
Seems I’ve often heard that kind of talk before
It never rains in California, but girl, don’t they warn ya?
It pours, man, it pours

To me, all this is about a time of seeming drought and then BOOM! It’s deluge time and I get more than I feel capable of being able to handle. But God is good (all the time), and he never gives me more than I can handle — as long as I stay close to Him.

For me, this usually comes after I have been praying to God for an extended period of time, requesting that He give me some way to be of service. After months or more of no reply, there is this sudden cloud-burst of service opportunities that almost seems overwhelming. Then after the storm has passed, it’s back to bending the knees and folding the hands, asking for more rain (opportunities to serve).

This week it has been pouring, but I am grateful for the opportunity to serve. Additionally, I might even gain a keyboard player for the worship team. YAY! I met him today during a practice/run-through of a memorial service taking place this Saturday. I let him know of our need and he seemed somewhat willing to help out. While I’m not holding my breath, I am hopeful, as so far it has only been me on my guitar… and I’m not all that good at playing the guitar (and most of the Praise and Worship songs I know are from around the turn-of-the-century).

I know, I’m rambling. I’m tired and I would love to stay home and rest, but God is calling me to serve this evening. Tomorrow will be another long day as well. Even though I am tired, I am so grateful, thankful, and thrilled that God has called me to serve Him. I just hope and pray that everything I do and say will be to His glory and honor.

Grace and peace,

Karl

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

